Top nav

James River Water Levels

Westham Gauge
Gauge Height: 3.40'
Flow: 908 cfps

Trail Conditions: Richmond

@rvatrailreport
  • Everything open and dry with highs in the mid-80's on this first day of fall.

Todays Tides: Richmond Locks

High Tide: 7:18pm
Low Tide: 1:48pm

Twitter Feed @RichmondOutside

Instagram Feed @RichmondOutside

Instagram
  • Friend of the program rvatrees gets ready to climb ahellip
  • Saw evidence of the growing controversy surrounding laruspark on ahellip
  • The pawpaws are in along buttermilktrail They should ripen inhellip
  • If you dont follow jamesriverpark you should The incomparable sandysdadhellip
  • Wish I could have gotten closer to this fella tohellip
  • Riding the wissahickon in philly is a blast every timehellip
  • The richmondoutside road trip arrived on the potomacriver in timehellip
  • Repost from Richmond fly fishing guide knotthereelworld  Floating thehellip
  • Met a new friend on the pooploop recently Taciturn fellowhellip
  • We have our first chick at the rvaospreycam ! Bornhellip
  • Big day at the rvaospreycam! Todays the first day thehellip
  • Looking for something to do on a gorgeous Sunday? Itshellip

Events Announced as Bike Month Approaches

Andy Thompson

@richmondoutside
April 27, 2017 9:16am

RVA Bike Month 2017 kicked off with proclamations of support from Richmond City Council and the Henrico County Board of Supervisors, and the calendar includes over 40 bike-related events taking place in Richmond, Henrico, Chesterfield, Hanover, and Ashland starting on April 28. The proclamation from Henrico County was their first in recognition of Bike Month.

BikeWalkRVA has done a great job putting together a list of bike-related events and activities for the month. Find it here in cool diagram form. Below you’ll find them in list form.

April 29

Pedal and Gears – Kid-friendly Ride to Pedal and Gears!
VCU Alumni Ride
Sacred Rides Mountain Bike Adventure

April 30

Black Girls Do Bike Richmond Social Ride

May 2

Taco Tour
Joe Moulis
joemoulis@yahoo.com

May 3

JRPS and SOTJ Bike Rack Install

May 4

Star Wars Family Ride
Jamie Pham
jamieluvstea@gmail.com

May 5

Bike contest and Pac Man tournament!
Zoe Klug
zoe@louisereedcpa.com

May 6

RABA New Riders Ride
Good Shephard School Bike Bash and Expo
Bell Joy Ride
Andrew Mann
Rabamann@aol.com

May 7

Pedal through Petals
Amy Williams
awilliams@hunton.com

May 9

“Crossings of the James” History Ride
Andrew McRoberts
andrewrmcroberts@gmail.com

May 10

*Bike to School Day*
Bike to School Day at Holton Elem
Jason James
jjames@umw.edu

After work downtown Capital Trail Ride
Susan Ann Glass
cycle.babe13@yahoo.com

May 11

Scavenger/Treasure Hunt
Tim Kelly
timkelly@timkelly.org

City of Richmond Bike Safety Lunch Conversation

May 12

8th Annual Pizza Crawl
Grant Fanning
grant@carytownbikes.com

Chesterfield Co. Bike Safety Lunch Conversation
Bike Commuter Morning Coffee Meetup
Kate Drake
katedrake7@gmail.com

May 13

VCTF Cap 2 Cap Ride
Beth Weisbrod
beth@virginiacapitaltrail.org

May 14

Outpost Richmond 200k Adventure Ride
Braden Govoni
braden@outpostrichmond.com

Kids Introduction to BMX
Sean Yeager
csyeager@gmail.com

May 15

Exploring Church Hill Ride
Rachel Jordan
heyracheljay@gmail.com

Henrico Co. Bike Safety Lunch Conversation

May 16

Bryan Park Summer Race Series Season Opener
Joe Notarnicola
josephj1964@gmail.com

May 17

Ride to Agecroft Hall
Katie Reynolds
kreynolds@agecrofthall.com

UR President’s Bike and Breakfast
Rob Andrejewski
randreje@richmond.edu

May 18

Carytown Bicycle Company: Thirsty Thursday Ride
Andy Stites
andy@carytownbikes.com

May 19

*Bike To Work Day*
Dominion Riverrock

May 20

Dominion Riverrock
Special Olympics Poker Ride
Mark Runac
artwarejewelers@hotmail.com

May 21

Dominion Riverrock
Belle Isle Pump Track Kids Ride
Christopher Long
vtchris89@gmail.com

Iron Bridge Ride
Melinda Aileo
meaileo@hotmail.com

Center of the Universe Criterium Bike Race
Chip Goble
cgoble@naturespath.com

May 23

Bryan Park Summer Race Series
Joe Notarnicola
josephj1964@gmail.com

May 24

Strava Art Ride
Kate Drake and Amy Waters
amy@sportsbackers.org

May 25

Breakaway RVA / Bike Walk RVA Collaboration Ride
Josh Son
joshnokson@gmail.com

May 26

RVA Critical Mass
Marina Kharitonova
roxette521@gmail.com

May 27

Bon Secours East End Bike Party
RideRichmond Bike Swap and Scavenger Hunt
Michael Gilbert
gilbertmj2@gmail.com

Stonewall Court Kids Fundraiser for Bike Walk RVA
Jay Paul
JPaul@rcmd.com

May 28

RABA / BWRVA Bike Month Wrap Party and Ashland Clunker Ride
Andrew Mann
Rabamann@aol.com

Richmond BMX: Race for Life
Bud Higgins
budmanh@aol.com

May 30

Women’s Multisports of Richmond Bike Month Shuffle
Lorene Davidson
lorenepyt@aol.com

Bryan Park Summer Race Series
Joe Notarnicola
josephj1964@gmail.com

May 31

Zen Bike Ride
Jamie Pham
jamieluvstea@gmail.com


About Andy Thompson

I was the Outdoors Columnist at the Times-Dispatch from 2007 to 2013, writing twice a week about mountain biking, fishing, hunting, paddling and much more. I live a 1/4 mile from the James River, close enough to see bald eagles soaring over my house on their way to find a meal. Pretty cool, eh?


Comments